Changing Seasons – January 2017

Last year I decided to do a photo challenge to get a bit more practice taking pictures. I got a good start and then life happened and I only made it a few months. So…I’m giving it another shot! 😀

Ever since I was a kid, when I got to fly in a Cesna with my dad, I have always loved aerial photography. There is something about that perspective that  I find truly interesting. It’s not surprising that a lot of my pictures are taken from above. When I go on an airplane, I like to take pictures out the window if the light allows. This is Charlotte, North Carolina, hub of American Airlines.

dscf6138

One of the things I enjoy most about flying into Regan International is being able to take pictures of historic monuments such as this one of the Washington Monument.

dscf5369

The second day of my trip we got snow…yay!!! I did not grow up in the snow and do not have memories of years and years of bitter cold. Snow days still represent a child’s idyllic view of magic and possibilities.

15871496_2044339912459130_2343315789423392162_n1

The view of the park below from my aunt’s place. They salted the walks the day before as the storm had been expected…but then no snow came. I had been out running errands and wished I’d had my camera because there was salt all over the place…red and green and even blue. I’d never seen a salted road so this was fascinating to me…but normal for everyone else.

dscf6074

Looking left from the balcony, a side street in a city that is usually bustling is quiet and almost empty.

dscf6070

Things changed quickly…the picture on the left was only taken six weeks earlier.

I had to search around for a place to find snow deep enough to do a snow angel…my first one! I thought of the lady on the plane who was telling me the hardest part was getting up without falling backwards.

15965342_2044034589156329_6551116973342083188_n1

Remnants of snow still on the ground as I head home.

dscf6140

As I head back in to Florida I can see the choppy water below…it’s been cold here, too!

dscf6147

I love the texture and color of the living and dying forest below. Florida pines are so funny to see because they are so thin. Having grown up with redwoods and sequoias, these trees remind me of pencils. I can’t imagine how they harvest them for lumber.

dscf6158

As my trip comes to an end I say goodbye to the tower. I know not when we will meet again, but I am certain we will see each other next January because I always take my first trip right after the holidays.

dscf6166

This monthly Photo Challenge is hosted by Cardinal Guzman at:

https://cardinalguzman.wordpress.com/

Anyone can join…here are the rules/guidelines.

What’s this «Changing Seasons» blogging challenge?

«The Changing Seasons 2017» is a blogging challenge with two versions: the original (V1) which is purely photographic and the new version (V2) where you can allow yourself to be more artistic and post a painting, a recipe, a digital manipulation, or simply just one photo that you think represents the month.
Anyone with a blog can join this challenge and it’ll run throughout 2017.
It doesn’t matter if you couldn’t join the first month(s), late-comers are welcomed.
These are the rules, but they’re not written in stone – you can always improvise, mix & match to suit your own liking:

These are the rules for Version 1 (The Changing Seasons V1):

  • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
  • Each month, post 5-20 photos in a gallery.
  • Don’t use photos from your archive. Only new shots.

These are the rules for Version 2 (The Changing Seasons V2):

    • Tag your posts with #MonthlyPhotoChallenge and #TheChangingSeasons
    • Each month, post one photo (recipe, painting, drawing, whatever) that represents your interpretation of the month.
    • Don’t use archive stuff. Only new material!

 

