Changing Season’s – February

It’s almost the end of February and I have scarcely had any time to take photos for the monthly photo challenge Changing Season’s. I’ve been looking forward to doing this challenge because I just got a new camera and I wanted to try it out. Since I am still getting used to the functions I took the simple route and used the auto setting for this challenge.

Seems like the last few days have been utterly gorgeous here in Daytona Beach and I did not have much opportunity to get out and take pictures. So, today, the day I have some time happens to be very windy! I don’t mind wind…in fact, I like it but when the wind shifts directions frequently it’s difficult to capture images when holding the camera in your hand. The first part of the series is taken from a seventh floor balcony.

Family waiting to cross the road.

DSCF0076

Despite the wind blowing strongly, some will play in the ocean.

 

DSCF0090

This flag reminds me of my teaching days when the class was learning how to judge wind strength.

DSCF0093

This photo was taken seconds later, clearly showing the shift in wind direction.

DSCF0104

Though I walked out with my hair neatly tied back, my efforts were no match with the wind.

IMG_6280

Even the birds were huddled together waiting out the wind.

DSCF0155

This is bird island where many birds have flown to the safety of the shrubbery.

DSCF0157

Here is a closer look.

DSCF0182

Even the pelicans that normally enjoy the air currents have chosen to rest awhile.

DSCF0192

This poor guy is having trouble staying afloat as he paddles closer to bird island.

DSCF0170

The only one who seems to be enjoying the wind…you can feel the enthusiasm as it soars and it catches the wave of air underneath it

DSCF0138

The wind is really picking up and it’s starting to sprinkle.

DSCF0215

In the distance you can see the storm approach.

DSCF0213

The line separating the storm and the sun…nature’s battleground.

DSCF0244

The storm nears…

DSCF0240

And across the river bent trees signal the inevitable approach of rain for those dining at the restaurant on the end the dock. I hope they went inside.

DSCF0274

As I drive home, I see this poor guy getting off the bus in the poring rain.

DSCF0275

Right around the corner was this bicyclist who came prepared for any weather. He must be a Floridian!

DSCF0278

Since it had rained on my parade I thought I’d stop and pay a bill. Just as I arrived at my destination the floodgates opened in full force and I had to sit in the car and wait it out. Why is the umbrella never in the car when you need it? As it slowed down a bit I made the dash inside, stepping into a deep puddle before hitting the door front. Just as I completed my business the rain stopped and the sun came out again.

 

Some people say that Florida is too humid…but here, near the shore the rain just washes the pollen away and makes the air fresh again and the usually light breezes keep it from becoming unbearable. I really don’t mind the rain at all!

 

 

