My Thoughts on Sarah Gives Thanks

Since Mike Allegra at Heylookawriterfellow is having his doodle contest and one of the books he is giving away is a signed copy of his children’s book, Sarah Gives Thanks, I thought I’d share a few thoughts on the book. Stay tuned for tomorrow’s announcement of the winner of the contest.
Sometimes it is challenging to let people know about a great book without giving it all away. Sarah Gives Thanks is not just about how we ended up with a holiday it is so much more.
Sarah Hale is an incredible woman with unimaginable determination despite multiple hardships and losses. During a time when women were expected to be homemakers she followed a dream to become educated and eventually became an opinion leader among women. I am sure that anyone who writes or aspires to write would love Sarah Hale, especially since she used her words to influence others and through them created change.
I highly recommend this book! It would be a great accompaniment to a lesson plan and would also be good for anyone who enjoys historical fiction and biographies.
If you don’t happen to be the lucky winner and you haven’t read the book, put it on your things to do list. But don’t wait too long like I did. I bought it right after Thanksgiving and didn’t read it until April. Despite my delays, I knew it would be a good read and I was not disappointed.

