Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned

I have always had a special place in my heart for abandoned buildings.  I was fascinated with the old haunted house that twenty years later was bought by the city, moved and turned into a historical society. Once I was simply sacred to death by what I saw at the abandoned house, located in the fields behind the one I grew up in…never returning to that field until the house was torn down. And, I was in love with the gorgeous farm house that was rescued from demolition by our family doctor, moved and restored to the grandness it once had been.  When I look at an abandoned house I can see its history and in some cases, I have been able to feel the emotion connected to it.  For example, when traveling I came across an abandoned mansion in a rather economically poor country.  You could actually feel the oppression that emanated through the walls.

Though I couldn’t find any of the ones mentioned above, I did find a few that I could share with you.

This series of three were of an abandoned gas station taken as I traveled along some of the side roads off Route 66.  Even the cement pad has become overgrown.  I love the pieces of broken glass at the base of the building.

1a

1b

1c

Another of my hobbies is genealogy and through my research I discovered that there was a 1880s  farm house connected to the family that was still standing in Pennsylvania.  So the next time I was even remotely close to Pennsylvania, I took an excursion to see the farm.  And, it was still standing but it was in rough shape, it appeared as if it might have been one of the places that teens chose as their party place.

2b

2a

But this house played an important role for some members of my family.  My great aunt and uncle were taken in by a distant relative Mary Frances when my great grandmother died. This was her house.  Mary Frances had lost her husband just a few years before taking in my aunt and uncle and though she tried to keep the farm it was too much for her to do with a family of girls and one small boy.  She leased out the land to other farmers and lived in the farm house until her new house in town was built.  She and the children moved to the house in town but would return to the farm during the summers.  While her husband was alive he kept work diaries and these diaries showed the care that he put into keeping the farm looking nice so I am sure that it’s current state merely reflects its neglect over time.

One day, I may do a history search of the house to see if there were other owners after the time my aunt lived there.  Rather than end this post with a sad moment, I’d like to show you the house they moved into…which is also still standing and clearly, not abandoned and a reminder that sometimes things are abandoned for something just a bit better.

3a

3b

3c

