A Perfect Compliment

Image

One of the wonders of blogging is the fascinating and beautiful people that you get to meet from all corners of the Earth.  And one can interact with another and discuss common interests and such.  Even when met with an opposing view, there is an opportunity to expand your own. How wonderful to be able to explore new lands…possibly places you’ve dreamed of going to, or even those you know you never will.  Just knowing that someone else is there now and can tell you what it’s like…or perhaps someone who has been there, from days passed – before it changed into what it is today.  Imagine Japan before the digital age…these other eyes around the world can really broaden your sense of reality…of the life in this sphere.

 I had a wonderful interchange this past week that is exemplary of connecting through the blogosphere.  I awoke one night with dreams of home-made plum jam.  It instantly reminded me of the pleasure I’d had in learning how to can foods as a child.  And then, as a young adult, how I used canning to solve the problem of over buying fresh fruit…introducing…plum jam.  I was especially pleased with the flavor…and surprised that I liked it more than any other before.  Though I could no longer fall back to sleep, I happily lay in bed with visions of plum jam running through my head.

When I finally dragged myself out of bed, to my even greater pleasure, I was greeted by my friend silkannthreades who posted this little lovely all about plums.  I laughed when I read it and thought, how did she get into my head?  We shared a delightful banter in the comments section in which she challenged me to right a villanelle about plums, knowing that I had been experimenting with poetry.  Game on, I thought!

And it seems as though poetry was in the air as her next post shared not only my post on creativity but another blogger’s as well and I thought she was a real sport for sharing with us, her first haiku…which is all about a favorite of mine…the monarchs.  Newly inspired was I, that I took to my keyboard and write a villanelle did I try.  I wanted it to capture my delight with plums and friendship, expressing my gratitude at meeting some of the beautiful people in the world…in the blogoshphere.

Image

Plum Delight

Memories of home-made jam appeared in the wee hours of the night.
Slathered thickly on fresh baked bread, so delicious I had to eat.
Visions and smells so vividly clear, I was sure I’d had a bite.

Before the plum, the breathtaking blossom is such a beautiful sight
From whence the fruit  has come, lined up and down the street.
Memories of home-made jam appeared in the wee hours of the night.

Lightly sweetened – not too tart, a flavor that’s just right;
When you’re just a little bit hungry, it’s quite a tasty treat.
Visions and smells so vividly clear, I was sure I’d had a bite.

It can also be a perfect gift, when money’s a wee bit tight.
Decorated handsomely with ribbons and cap is a look that can’t be beat.
Memories of home-made jam appeared in the wee hours of the night.

Then a friend shared photos of cakes and plums, much to my delight;
Making my dreams and yearning for plum jam ever so complete.
Visions and smells so vividly clear, I was sure I’d had a bite.

Sometimes we make connections – friendship bonds that seem so tight,
Happy with the simple pleasures that greet us – save for a hug if we ever meet.
Memories of home-made jam appeared in the wee hours of the night.
Visions and smells so vividly clear, I was sure I’d had a bite.

This is not the first time that a blogger has been the springboard of an interest or an attempt at creativity and it has brought to my mind…What a wonderful compliment it is to try something new, something different, something shared..discovered by blogging and meeting someone new…creativity is spread over the world through and through.

“The greatest compliment that was ever paid me was when one asked me what I thought, and attended to my answer.”  Henry David Thoreau

