“What’s wrong with our world?” and “What can we do about it?”

Image

I was recommended a movie today called, “I AM”.  Although I wasn’t particularly in the mood to watch a documentary, I decided to check it out.  I was pretty sure that it would be a “watch later” movie, but curiosity got the better of me and I clicked the “play” button.  The fact that I was familiar with some of the movies Tom Shadyac had directed was incentive enough to hear his story and so I continued, still thinking about aborting the viewing if it turned out to be lame or over the top.

He starts out by sharing what led him on of road for eternal answers, a personal story of an accident he had and the effect it had on him.  He interviews people he terms as “significant minds”, sharing their contributions to the question, “What’s wrong with our world?” and “What can we do about it?”.

Some of these contributions were very familiar and often shared while others were new to me and I found my own perspective changing…more than once.  And yes, there were some that expressed ideas that I didn’t completely agree with.  Some of the answers were beautifully honest…very real.

There were two things that I really liked about this movie.  The first, is that it didn’t prosthletize any specific ideology but emphasized the historical commonalities along the way.  And the second, he kept it interesting.  On the flip side, I found myself asking, “Okay, where is this leading to?” more than once and actually checked several times to see how much time was left on the show.  But truthfully, I never felt it had lost my interest because each new idea or thought process was factually interesting and added to the whole.  And by the end, both questions posed, “What’s wrong with our world?” and “What can we do about it?” do get answered.

This was an excellent and very thought provoking film…good enough to recommend to my viewers.   If you haven’t seen it, I would personally recommend it and if you decide to watch it, the credits are well worth sitting through.  I know of two ways you can view it, there could be more.  It is available through Netflix streaming from start to finish.  Heads Up…there are two titles called “I AM”, you want the documentary by Tom Shadyac.   Or you can view it here on YouTube in the first of seven parts.  If you have seen the film, I would be very interested in your thoughts on it. so please share.

