The Beach House

My grandfather decided to sell his half of the house in Arundel By the Bay to his partner (Mr. Reynolds) so that he could purchased the beach house in Calvert Beach – a small two bedroom house that sits on a bluff overlooking the Chesapeake.  Just a half dozen steps to your own private beach.

The beach house

Nestled in the trees

Nestled in the trees

Stairs to Beach

The beach house was originally built for a woman and her husband who was a chaplain in the war but he unfortunately lost his life before the war ended.  They had hired a contractor to build the house and to do the landscaping but when he completed the house, he accepted the money for the landscaping and skipped town. Originally, the lady sold the property to a development firm which then sold to it Joseph, who found out that someone had put a Mechanics Lien on the house.  Eventually he sorted it out and got the property free and clear.  The lady who originally had the house built never lived in the house but she had moved in two beds which she left with the property.  Those beds are still in the house today.

Back yard view looks out on the Chesapeake

Back yard view looks out on the Chesapeake

That house has been the safe haven for all family and friends.

Eleanora, Matha and Joanne

My great grandmother Minnie and Great grandfather Frank

My great grandmother Minnie and Great grandfather Frank

In 1960 there was a family reunion held there that had five generations all in the same place.

Family Reunion at Calvert Beach 1960

Family Reunion at Calvert Beach 1960

Though it is a small house it has a rustic charm to it.  Suited for people who are comfortable in jeans and a t-shirt.  As many as seventeen people have stayed there at one time.  Between the long couches (sleeps four) and sleeping bags in the living room plus the daybeds on the porch  in addition to the two bedrooms it was a cozy yet lighthearted trip.

Part of the living room

The back porch

The back porch

At one point in my life when it felt like my world had turned upside down it was a sanctuary that gave me time and space to heal.  It is one of the few places on the western side of the Chesapeake that didn’t lose its beach to hurricane erosion.  Everywhere you look you can see the treasures that have been collected by beachcombers over the last sixty years.  On the mantle is a vase full of sharks teeth and the bookcases on either side of the fireplace are a mix of the original owners, my grandparents and a few from visitors who have stayed.  There is also a copy of my great-great aunt Agnes’ family bible.

Me...playing with the dogs.

Me…playing with the dogs.

beach combing

beach combing

Wil and Terry

Friends that are really more like family

Family and friends

Family and friends

I love this place so much!  And when it was time for the love of my life to meet my family, I brought him here.

An island excursion with my sweetie.

An island excursion with my sweetie.

But it had been two long years since I had last seen my little (big) girl…and I had never seen my grandson.  So I planned a special trip and invited them to come…

My daughter

My daughter

My grandson

My grandson

to my wedding ceremony, a small intimate gathering of my family and friends in the back yard of the beach house.

Wedding ceremony

Wedding ceremony

We played in the water.

Wedding 033

And we went for a ride in the boat.

boat riding

We stopped for a picture

picture taking

… and a meal.

A meal

On the way back, Andrew said he would drive

I'll drive

Really, I insist!

I'm on a mission

It was a wonderful day… the weather was great!  I was with the people I cherished the most…my family.

The beach house has provided many a special day, year after year.  At least seven generations have stayed there at one time or another.  It is our family intention that this place always be reserved for anyone in the family and our close friends to use for pleasure.  No one may inhabit it on a full time basis as that would limit its use to others.

This house holds all the adventures and stories of those who have spent time within their walls.  It would be forever, the family vacation home.  I think this would have made my grandfather very happy to know that his house was able to provide so much pleasure and that his great-great grandson got to be a part of it too…sleeping under the same roof, walking along the shore and taking in the beautiful waters of the Chesapeake.

