My Secret Garden

A few years ago I moved from California to Florida where my husband lived.  He had joined me on the west coast but after a year we decided to move back to Florida.  We had expected that his place might need a bit of maintenance but were caught off guard by how badly it had been neglected, especially the yard.  No one cares for your house the way you do.

Image

One of my favorite books as a child was The Secret Garden and as bad as the yard looked, I knew that I could fix it up with a bit of work.  Our finances were limited because of the recent move so most of the improvements would be a result of grunt work.

First we pruned and watered the plants just to get them going.  We then created a simple border, added mulch and bought five jasmine plants to help cover the wire fence.  We spent less than fifty dollars for everything.

Image

Within a month it started looking much better.

Image

This little corner near the house was mostly weeds but had a few sorry-looking Impatiens that had become very leggy and weak.  I trimmed these up, watered and mulched.  A weed started growing and I liked the look of it so I kept it.  But it just kept growing taller and taller, a single feathery stalk.

Image

So, I trimmed it back several times and it branched out enough to hide the water sprinkler system.  I have now determined that it is an Anise plant.  The Impatiens have since flourished and have been cut back several times this season.  They are actually self-propagating which was surprising to me as I had only been able to grow them as annuals.  They have sprouted up in several other places around the house as well.  I added a small plant that I don’t know the name of to the right of the Anise plant.  I grew it from a cutting and it is doing nicely in its new location.

Image

I love to garden but I am a lazy gardener with a short attention span.  I like to look at pretty spaces and now that the flowers are blooming I can sit out on the patio and enjoy them while I sip my coffee.  The neighbors seem to like them as well and often comment on how pretty everything looks which is an added bonus.  We even got a couple of invites to barbeques with some of the neighbors down the street. 🙂

